St. Luke’s U.M. Church Grant Committee

Ken Camper
St. Luke’s U.M. Church Grant Committee

Where once there was a slave auction on a street called “Bondage Road,” St. Luke’s United Methodist Church found a permanent home on the renamed Bond Avenue.

What began as a fellowship of slaves has become a bastion of spiritual freedom in our Reisterstown community.  It all began in a log cabin near the Reisterstown Community Cemetery in 1834. The fellowship survived the Civil War, two world wars and the many challenges in the first for civil rights and fundamental freedoms.

Now a jewel of the Reisterstown Historic District, St. Luke’s stands as a proud symbol of the enduring faith of a congregation that shall never take these freedoms for granted.

Contact Information


Reisterstown Improvement Association
P.O. Box 856, Reisterstown, Maryland 21136
Copyright © 2018